Fantasy+Football= Frustrated Females

As many of you know, I am currently single. Some days this is boring, but during the fall it’s actually quite nice, this is because I don’t have to deal with getting mad at my man about football.

If I had $1 for each of my friends who complain about their boyfriend/fiance’/husband/live in and their addiction to “Fantasy Football”, I would be able to buy myself the Coach bag I’ve been lusting over! Super cute, right?

“Fantasy Football,” according to Wikipedia, “is an on-line fantasy sports game in which participants (called “owners”), arranged into a league, each draft or acquire via auction a team of real-life American football players and then score points based on those players’ statistical performance on the field. A typical fantasy league will employ players from a single football league, such as the NFL or an NCAA division. Leagues can be arranged in which the winner is the team with the most total points at the end of the season, or in a head-to-head format (which mirrors the actual NFL) in which each team plays against a single opponent each week, and at the end of the year the team with the best win-loss record.”

Well apparently my friends are not the only ones frustrated. Today, CNN ran a story about “Sports Widows“. At first I only caught the beginning of the segment, and I thought that it was about a woman who actually lost her husband, when in reality she’s only lost him for a few short months during football season.

According to the Sports Widow website:

-The typical player is 41 year old man, married with 2 kids, has a household income of $95,000

-The number of people who play fantasy football continues to grow by 2-5% per year.

-The Sporting Goods Marketing Association recently reported that the average fantasy football participant spends about 45 minutes a day managing his teams, while a survey by West Virginia Wesleyan College found that 60 percent of fantasy sports fans spent more than an hour daily just thinking about their fantasy teams. That’s nearly 2 hours a day (or 238 hours over the course of the 17-week football season) not including watching football on Monday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday.238 Hours in 17 Weeks? That is insane…who does that? Apparently a lot of people.

The web site is so funny, and I think all of my sad friends who have lost the attention of their men should log on and bitch to them! Or if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. However, I can think of a lot of other things I’d rather spend my time and money on…like Coach bags.

PS- This blog is dedicated to my Merediths…enjoy

2 responses to “Fantasy+Football= Frustrated Females

  1. Meredith's Jay

    I heart fantasy football

  2. Meredith's Jay

    I heart fantasy football

Leave a Reply

