Holding On

All of us wake up every morning and live for a purpose. Some live for their family, passions, work, God. These are the things that keep us holding on through thick and thin.

Today I visited my Grandfather in the hospital, for what will be one of the last times I see him alive. I can’t help but think about all of the things that he lives for. He has been married for 53 years, has 10 children, 17 grandchildren, and 2 great grandchildren. Family is what keeps him going.

He also has amazing faith. I admire his passion and strength for the church. It makes me realize that I need to put more faith in God, and live less for me and others, and more for him. My grandfather has received his “last rights” or “living rights” three times, and is still around to talk about it. He knows that his time is drawing near and he is afraid.Not of what will come at the end, but what will happen to his family when he goes.

He has lived an amazing life and I will miss him.

Please keep him in your thoughts and prayers as he continues to hold on.

Leave a Reply

