A Girly Groomsman

John and I have always been pretty close. We’re only 3 years apart in age, 4 years in school. He’s really grown up a ton in the last few years and I’m so proud of him.

I haven’t talked much about this, but my little brother John, 22, is getting married this coming May. I’m excited for him, but I’m sad that I’ve moved farther away, and I’m not around to be a part of the planning.

I have to admit, that this summer when his fiance told me that she had selected her sisters and a few friends to be her bridesmaids, I was slightly disappointed to not be invited to be in the wedding. All of my siblings mean so much to me, and I really want to be a part of his wedding.

Then it hit me…why do I have to be a bridesmaid when the one I’m there to support is John? Is it silly to think that I should be able to stand next to my brother while he gets married? I called him this week and gave him a modified version of how I was hurt about not being a part of his wedding, and shared with him my idea of being a “groomsman”.
His first reaction was, “Are you going to plan a bachelor party?”. I honestly don’t think that me standing up with him was a thought that had ever crossed his mind. I told him that I wouldn’t be upset if he didn’t like the idea (this may have been a tiny fib), and that if he didn’t like the idea I would squash it.

I’m excited to say that tonight he called and said that after thinking about things, he wants me to stand up with him! I get to be a Groomsman! Which is so much better than being a bridesmaid…now all I have to do is go find a dress!

Leave a Reply

