10 Things to do Before You Get Married

This one is hard…and I think this Post Secret pretty much sums things up for me. I have no idea what I one should do before they get married…but he’s a guess.
  1. Turn at least 25! Check. But I still have days where I think I’m too young for marriage.
  2. Fall in love with YOURSELF. This is a work in progress.
  3. Design your house/life with your own personal style and taste in mind, not what you think your other half would approve of. I have a pink bathroom, bright paisley printed chairs, etc. and now that I’ll have a house that’s all mine soon, I’m sure I’ll continue this process.
  4. Buy things you want, but don’t need, without having to ask for permission. I think this may be my favorite part of being single. Every girl needs a good pair of F*you Shoes!
  5. Get your career in order. Also, work in progress.
  6. Fall in lust with someone you’d never see yourself marrying. I think that this could be done a few more times…
  7. Buy yourself diamonds. No check here…I feel like I will do this one day…if I ever make my quota.
  8. Travel with your girlfriends. Can never be done enough…and I think should still be done post marriage.
  9. Do something you never thought you could do. I’ll have to let you know how this goes. I also never really thought that I could move to a new city alone. Or buy a house by myself.
  10. Fall truly madly deeply in love! Wishing, wanting, hoping and praying.


Love is 3/4 dream and 1/4 reality. Problems usually arise when you fall in love with the dream and not the reality. But, yet you find true love when you fall in love with both. -Unknown

7 responses to “10 Things to do Before You Get Married

  1. Agreed! Congrats on the house, by the way.

    I LOVE PostSecrets…and in reference to the one you chose, I hope you’re wrong, too (I think you are! :)).

  2. Where’d you get this list? If it’s your own work, then that’s cool, we all have our own limits and expectations, but if this is a general “what every girl should read” list, then I think I hate it.

    Why is getting married before 25 wrong? Why do I need to own diamonds, first? My sister is 23 and getting married in July. And I don’t like diamonds, why would I buy them for myself?

    I especially didn’t like “get your career in order”…does it imply that one is unable to get their career in order once they wed?

    I do love Post Secret, though.

  3. This list is my list. Not one for the world to follow, but my own. It’s a Tuesday meme. One of the only ones I usually play along with.

    When I was 20, I was in love. When I was 23 I thought I knew what I wanted in life and who I wanted it with. When they left all I had was me. That’s when I realized you can’t fully give yourself to someone unless you’re fullfilled in life on your own. Words can’t explain how much I’ve grown over the past 5 years, 2 years or even just in the past 12 months.

    So many women loose themselves when they get into a relationship, perhaps it’s because they never knew who they truly were to begin wiht. It’s not about diamonds, shoes or traveling…it’s about finding the things in life that make you complete and fulfilled on your own…whether your a man or a woman. You can’t give your heart and soul to someone else unless you know who you are and what makes you happy first.

    Some people are able to do that earlier in life than others…I guess I just haven’t found everything I’m looking for. But truth be told, I’m starting to be alright with that.

  4. mercedesrules

    I will be referring back to this list! I believe I have accomplished most of it-hehe! I still need to buy a diamond! Great list!

  5. Jennifer Ramos

    This was very enjoyable to read… : )

    Jen Ramos
    ‘100% Recycled DESIGNER Cards’
    http://www.madebygirl.com
    madebygirl.blogspot.com

  6. I liked this. I’m not really a diamond girl (I would much rather spend the money on books, or shoes or travel) but I like the idea of treating yourself to something extravagant.

    And as someone who just came back from an all girl trip to Vegas- I have to say I love the one about taking a trip with your girlfriends!!

  7. Hey I love this list. I can definitely relate xx

Leave a Reply

