Better Single than Sorry

I have hot friends. Very hot. HOT HOT HOT. They are delicious driven divas who work hard and play hard…yet most of them are surprisingly single. Having these amazing women around me, makes me feel confident with the direction my life is going, regardless of my lack of a man.

Overall, I’m so happy with the path my life has taken. I love my job, I love my friends and I love that I’m at a point in my life where I can do what I want, when I want and on my own. Would I love to have someone in my life to share it with? Absolutely. But why should my relationship status define me?

With this weekends wedding season kickoff, this has been weighing on my mind lately. I stood up in Meredith’s wedding and gave a killer toast that resembled this blog. Everyone loved it!

Meredith was a beautiful bride. Her son was adorable. Her husband was sweet. Everything was perfect with the exception of a handful of crazy wedding guests. Apparently there’s a large segment of the population who believes that if you’re not married by the time you turn 30,you will be eternally miserable. These people find it necessary to check in on the 20 somethings at weddings and remind them that being single is the worst possible way to live your life.

Crazy Wedding Guest: “When are you getting married?”

SJ: I’m not. *Smile*

CWG:“Are you dating anyone seriously?”

SJ: I’m not. *Fake Smile*

CWG: Oh…that’s so sad.

SJ: Not really. I’m 25, I have a job, I own a home and I have a Gucci bag! What more could a girl ask for? *Shit eating grin*

CWG: silence.

This was one of my favorite conversations of the weekend that was repeated many times before my lack of filter kicked in at the end of the night. I believe that my favorite quote came from an teenage wedding guest.

Young Naive Thing: I heard that the only reason that you’re still single is because you refuse to lower your standards.

SJ: True statement. But I’m pretty sure I’ll never lower them even if it means that I’m single forever.

YNT: Really? I can’t wait to get married.

SJ: Trust me you can wait.

As if the wedding guests didn’t remind me of my singledom enough, my amazing bride got me the books Better Single than Sorry and Be Honest, You’re Not That into Him Either. I’ll have to add them to my reading list, or use them as a door stop in my new house! (Just kidding Mere…I’ll get around to them.)

8 responses to “Better Single than Sorry

  1. You are young and fabulous and no man should define who you are. Just keep buying those Gucci bags. Shopping therapy works!

  2. This post made me so damn happy! It’s such a great feeling when you stop and realizing that your life is brilliant. It looks like the wedding was a blast!

  3. it’s so true- who needs a flipping man to be happy!

    i have the you’re not that into him either. not bad.

    thanks for stopping by my blog! looking forward to reading more of you!

  4. And you shouldn’t have to lower your standards! I enjoyed these little conversations–I think I need to get myself a new bag! 🙂

  5. Yip. Yea. I pretty much love you now.

    And that “Oo, that’s sad” comment. I think I would have lost it. But you were a lady.

  6. You all are are so sweet! I honestly started to feel sorry for myself and my singledom for a second this weekend…but after a bit of liquid courage and a reality check from some amazing friends and readers like you, I remembered that my life is pretty fab.

  7. I loved being single! Giving up being single was the hardest part about getting married six years ago. ha!

  8. Courtney Ann

    Sara! I love your attitude and I read this blog on a day when I was feeling a bit lost in my “singleness”. Thanks for the pick me up!

    Courtney (McCreery)

Leave a Reply

