10 Things I Hate About You: Part 1

I started mildly dating the chef on New Years Eve. We met a a party and hit it off. I think it was mostly because we had mutual friends, and New Years Eve brings out the crushes in all of us. I never blogged about him, because frankly…there wasn’t much to say. We had very little in common, and after trying for a few weeks, I quit. Plain and simple.

Just when I think I had gotten rid of him…along comes the infamous late night text message…

TEXT from the Chef: “What’s the code”.

SJ t0 Chef: “Code? You must have text the wrong Sara.”

I laughed, rolled over and went to sleep.

The next week, on a random Thursday night at 2AM, the phone rings. IGNORE.

I’m curious now. What in does he want? Our non-relationship ended before it ever took flight. Why is he calling me? So I do what any other irrational 25 year old single girl would do…I text him.

SJ to Chef: “You called. Is everything alright?”

Chef: “Yes. I was just thinking of you.”

SJ: “Well, next time try to think of me at 2PM not 2AM.”

Why did I even respond? Well, I can answer that…I’m bored. I’m bored with being single. But I also know that despite my boredom, it’s a huge waste of time. I don’t like him, I don’t want to date him and I don’t even know that we have enough in common to be friends.

Why do I respond to things like this? And why did I agree to go to dinner with him?

One response to “10 Things I Hate About You: Part 1

  1. Because the attention is nice, and despite the fact that you don’t neccesarily like him, you like that he likes you.

    I’m with ya. I know how it goes. And why do we do it? Why does it feel so good to be wanted?

    More details on dinner, please!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

