Breakable

Have you ever thought about what protects our hearts?
Just a cage of rib bones and other various parts.
So it’s fairly simple to cut right through the mess,
And to stop the muscle that makes us confess.
And we are so fragile,
And our cracking bones make noise,
And we are just,Breakable, breakable, breakable girls and boys.
-Ingrid Michaelson
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Three hours ago my heart was fluttering with excitement and anticipation. I thought that it might jump out of my chest and fly away it was beating so fast. It is now in the pit of my stomach where I fear that it may stay for the next 24 hours. I knew it. I should have trusted my gut. I wanted to be wrong. For once, just once. As funny as the email exchange that Jules and I went through a few weeks ago was, she was pretty much spot on. I try to stay as positive as possible. Really, I do. But my optimism has been flushed down the drain tonight and replaced with a feeling of complete and utter emptiness. All this…over a super crush. Thank goodness tomorrow is a new day.
PS-Hope-I could use some of those hugs and wine that you are always getting. Perhaps we can meet in the middle of the US and Greece? Where would that be?
3 responses to “Breakable

  1. The middle of the US and Greece would be somewhere in the Atlantic. Are there any islands there?

    Nevermind. I’m hoping E-hugs and wine might do the trick. Cause I’m sending those in bucket loads to you.

    Here’s hoping tomorrow is a little bit better! 🙂

  2. I hope you are feeling better soon. Hugs and wine always make me feel better…my new favorite wine is a nice New Zealand sauvignon blanc. To be specific it’s Sherwood Estates…but any New Zealand will do. Maybe it wil work for you too? Love you darlin!

  3. Anything red will suffice–at least for a few hours. It’s spring, and I hope it’s sunny there and the flowers are in bloom. If your new house has a porch, you should invite a friend over, vent and drink a bottle of red and smell the flowers. I hope you get to feeling better. Take care Sara.

Leave a Reply

