It hurts to fall

I have met one of the kindest, nicest, most sincere people in America. He is everything I should want in a boy and I just don’t know what to do with myself.

You see, the problem lies in the fact that I the boys I should like are far different than the boys I fall for.

Mr. Right, aka the boy I should be falling for is: sincere, kind, driven, passionate, hardworking and loyal. He tends to be the boy next door, with the biggest heart in America and a smile that you don’t want to hurt, but know that you’re going to.

I enjoy Mr. Right for breakfast, chew him up during lunch and spit out by dinner. I get bored with his predictability. I get irritated because he calls too much. I want to vomit when I get a text from Mr. Right mid-day with something mushy. Ugh. The truth of the matter is that he isn’t doing anything wrong. In fact, he’s doing everything I should want a boy to do!

Or do I…

Mr. Not So Right, also known as the boy I lust over is: charming, unpredictable, unavailable, mischievous and witty. He’s a snake dressed in a cute boy costume. He has a twinkle in his wandering eye and a smile that I can’t resist.

He reels me in with his charisma and keeps me guessing and constantly wanting more. He keeps me staring at my phone, waiting for it to ring. Just as I go to delete his number, he always sends me a text that leaves me hanging on. He wouldn’t dare make plans for more than a week or two out, and you never know when something (or someone else) will come up. A certified heart breaker.

So the question of the moment is:
Why do I keep falling for the wrong boys and slamming the door in the face of the ones who would treat me like a queen?
or
At what are are we too old to be playing “the game”?



11 responses to “It hurts to fall

  1. jenniferalaine

    This is so Carrie Bradshaw of you. (Sorry – I started watching SATC from the very beginning and I can’t get it out of my head).

    Why is it that we always want what we can’t have? I crave chocolate 24/7, but I don’t want to be fat. I want to have my cake and eat it too, you know?

  2. Being treated like a queen always wins over being with a snake. You just have to find the right Mr. Right for you. Don’t look so hard and they will turn up.

  3. If I had the answer I would wrap it up and send it to you. If your like me I run over the nice ones just to chase the not so nice ones and wonder why I always cry.

  4. Hmmmm I wonder if you KNOW that the right guys are the marrying kind and maybe that scares you? So you go for the ones that you know are never going to commit?(nor would you want to commit yourself to someone that is a snake)
    ~Michelle 🙂

  5. I don’t know if we’ll ever be able to answer that question. It seems many girls long for the nice guy but end up pursuing the bad guy.

  6. Playful Professional

    I always fell for the one that was just a little wrong for me, and it never worked out. When I finally fell for the boy that treats me right, it’s worked out perfectly 🙂 Good luck.

  7. I have the same problem! For some reason all of the bad boys are attracted to me and all of the good boys who are attracted to me are not cute.

  8. I wish I had an answer
    for you…but I’m
    just as guilty at
    “the game” as you
    are.

    Going for Mr. Not So Right
    is the story of my life.
    I will never understand
    why I do this…because
    it never turns out the
    way I want it to.

    And like you, I’m often
    wondering when I’m going
    to be tired of going for
    that lustful piece of man
    candy, and fall for the
    sweet and oh-so charming
    guy…ugh.

  9. i wish i knew the answer to this one lady. like you, i always fall for the bad boys.

  10. I know…why can’t anyone answer this age old question.

    Quick update…Mr. Nice Guy was almost mean tonight because I was being a brat. Total brat for no reason. Then he apologized for being almost mean. The sad part was that I was turned on by his anger!

    Michelle-I’ve never thought about things this way. I hope you aren’t right, but I have a sneaky suspicion that you may be!

  11. Simple.

    You go for the extremes. No girl wants the complete mushy, push over. And no one wants a complete arrogant, dick.

    Find someone who will keep you on your toes, but knows when to pull out the sensitive side.

    Easier said that done, eh?

Leave a Reply

