The Mind Will Drive You Mad.

“Now if you are going to win any battle you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired in the morning, noon and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired.”

~George S. Patton, U.S. Army General, 1912 Olympian

Once upon a time, I had this amazing idea to run a 10K. I didn’t think I had it in me. I didn’t train enough to be a rock star, just enough to make it without dying. I survived. As bad as it sucked, I enjoyed the challenge of doing something I didn’t think I could.
I finished the Peachtree in Atlanta this weekend…but I wouldn’t call it a stellar performance.

Big Sexy Runners at the Peachtree 10K

So what I can I do to push myself farther?
Kiawah Half Maraton training starts tomorrow!
T-Minus 158 Days! December 6th, is now officially DOOMS DAY!
Thanks SAS, E, and my adopted family for being BSRs with me and for a great 4th!
12 responses to “The Mind Will Drive You Mad.

  1. jenniferalaine

    Congrats on the race! My family is running a few 5Ks this summer, and I’m trying to coordinate (and train for!) a 10K for my dad and I to run when he visits me in Spain next year. I’ve never run that far in my life, but we’ll see how it goes!

  2. What an accomplishment! Can’t wait to hear about more of the marathon adventures!

  3. wow girlie, GOOD FOR YOU!!!!!

  4. That is amazing… I workout but don’t have the guts to try any sort of marathon.

  5. Go you!!!

  6. Auburn Kat

    CONGRATS! Maybe this is what I should do? I have such a hard time working out just to workout, I need a sport or a competition to train for. Where is this race that you are running at in?

  7. Wow! That’s… so impressive!! Great job!

  8. I am soooo proud of you my BSR!!!!

  9. Hollla to you.
    Way to be a killer.

    Have fun with your
    training…even though
    pshh…it sucks!

    By December 6th…you’ll
    be running circles around
    all those hardcore people.

  10. I have full faith you’re going to lay the smack down on that race.

    I never heard that quote before, damn it’s a good one

  11. Congrats! What a great feeling to accomplish that!

  12. congrats!! I tried training for a 7mile road race in August but totally flaked out because I get cranky in the heat. lol

    and now a half marathon? You go girl!

Leave a Reply

