My Sister’s Keeper

I’d rater read than do almost anything else when I’m relaxing. I love the way the pages feel between my fingers as I let my mind drift into another world. I’ve been reading a lot of girly books lately and I love them, but they haven’t been very deep or thought provoking. Don’t get me wrong. I loved the Jennifer Weiner books, and had no idea what was coming next; but for the most part, I’m almost always able to predict what’s going to happen in the end about halfway through the book.

What is more valuable: Quality of Life or Sanctity of Life?
I started My Sister’s Keeper last week on my way home to Cbus. I knew it was going to be sad before I turned the first page. I thought I had it all figured out…until I finished it last night. I was exhausted after a long day of traveling last night and just was going to read a few pages and then off to sleep. I tried, but once I got to the last 50 pages I was hooked. I was sobbing so hard I’m sure that my neighbors heard me.
After I finish, I laid in bed with my salty cheeks, burning eyes and book still in hand hoping that the ending was going to change. My mind was racing with thoughts and decisions that people have to make on a daily basis. I thought about my family and friends and what lengths I would go to help them in need.
If you’ve read this book, did it change your perspective?
If you haven’t read it, hurry up! It’s amazing. You better get it done before they finish the movie starring Cameron Diaz and Abigail Breslin!
13 responses to “My Sister’s Keeper

  1. jenniferalaine

    I have indeed read it, a few summers ago. My mom read it first and then gave it to me. I then read another Jodi Picoult book, and then I quit her.

    She is truly thought provoking, and my mom has met her a few times and continues to read her stuff. I just can’t handle it anymore! I choose to be ignorant because I can’t separate my life from the book. Reading it, I kept imagining MY sister in that situation. And I read another one (spacing on the title) but I put myself in the shoes of the character and couldn’t distinguish reality from fiction.

    I guess it’s a sign that she’s a great writer, but I just don’t have the emotions to deal with it anymore.

    Also, specifically to My Sister’s Keeper, the ending was so sad and I definitely SOBBED. Have you read any of her other stuff?

  2. First of all, great blog! I found it through Jamie.

    I read My Sister’s Keeper a few years back. Maybe four years back. Good book but I think it’s quite sad. And I don’t really like sad.

    Water for Elephants however is a WONDERFUL book. I read it while on a seven hour bus trip. It is one of my favorite books to date. Quite different too as it doesn’t really fall into a genre (unless you regularly read circus books). I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  3. oooh i was in walmart about a week ago and picked up this book along with, like all her others…then i became so overwhelmed because i didn’t know which one i wanted to start with. so i bought none and instead bought ‘chasing harry winston.’ yeah. i know.

  4. Girl, I had the same reaction with this book – SOBBED. Its funny, movies do not move me to tears, but books do and this one made me not only cry but kept rolling the decision over and over in my head of which side of the fence I would have been on…

  5. i’m afraid to read it! I hate crying and being sad with books. It reminds me of the friends ep where Joey throws Little Women into the freezer. lol

    i do heart cameron diaz though, maybe i will give it a shot

  6. Very very very sad. It definitely made me think a lot about the rights that people have to their own bodies and fates.

    Have you read Life of Pi? That is a thought provoking one. If you can get through Part I you are golden. This is probably one of my all time favs.

  7. I've heard a lot of good things about this book & the author in general. I'll have to check it out!

  8. I thought that book was fantastic. Picoult is amazing. I would suggest “The Pact” next if you haven’t read it.

  9. I’ve heard lots of good things about this book! I might have to start it once I’m finished with my current read! 🙂

  10. I read it, too. I have been hooked on her books ever since…however, they are emotionally exhausted. I miss you already!

  11. This book left me
    with such bitter feelings.
    Ughh. I cried like
    a baby at the end. It
    was heart-wrenching!
    Pshh. Why oh why did
    little Anna have to
    dieeee. I am SO looking
    forward to the movie.
    I can’t contain my
    excitement!

  12. I loved this book! If you haven’t read Plain Truth by Jodi, I definitely recommend it.

  13. “After I finish, I laid in bed with my salty cheeks, burning eyes and book still in hand hoping that the ending was going to change.”

    I felt that way about the ending to a Farewell to Arms.

Leave a Reply

