Water Equals Serenity

Some days you just need to get away. Not a vacation where you drink your face off, run around all day looking at new things, stay up all night, only to wake up and do it again. I mean a true mini break.

Although I’ve been to Kiawah more than once this summer, each time I drive on the island and see the Spanish moss hanging from the trees and smell the salty air, serenity takes over. Time is no longer of the essence and I could care less about checking my bb. All I need is a spot on the beach where I can put my toes in the sand and my nose in a good book.


I had heard that Water for Elephants, was a good book, but when I read the synopsis I wasn’t that thrilled with the plot summary. I like predictable, girly love stories. This said it was about the circus. Seriously, the circus.

Lately, I have been trying to branch out in my reading. Erika told me a million times over to read this book. She claims that it’s one of her favorites of all time. I had no desire to read this…but once I started, I couldn’t put it down. By the end of the day, I was so into the story that I had forgotten to turn over or reapply SPF because although my feet were in the water, my head was with the Elephant. I am currently fried, but only on one side, and I’m pretty sure that I have a tan line on my legs from where the book was sitting!

This story is about so much more than the circus, it’s about love, passion and friendship. If you’ve ever picked it up and put it down due to the title, think again. You won’t regret it!

11 responses to “Water Equals Serenity

  1. It is on the summer read list, THANKS!

  2. “Some days you just need to get away. Not a vacation where you drink your face off, run around all day looking at new things, stay up all night, only to wake up and do it again.”

    I was going to say, that doesn’t sound like much of a vacation. Then again I don’t enjoy vomiting, regrets, and blacking out. 😉

  3. oh i’ve never heard of this, may have to add it to the reading list 🙂

  4. I think I’m gonna check this out- I’m kind of the same way in that I really need to branch out in my reading.

  5. Okayy. You’ve convinced
    me to read this. Because
    everyone keeps telling
    me I need to branch out
    from my reading cycle
    as well. And this sounds
    like a perfect book to
    do just that with.

    I’ll be picking it
    up soon!

    And I’ll DEF. be sending
    you my address for the
    next time you’re floating
    around SC! Holla…thanks!

  6. I loved this book too! And (like you) I wasn’t sold on the idea of reading a circus book but it was pretty brilliant.

  7. My cousin sent me this book and told me it’s a must read. I haven’t been doing any reading at all lately, I really need to start again!

  8. read this when it first came out. loved it and was not excited about having to read it either.

    ps- the song you tagged from amos lee is one of my fav times of all time. remind me to tell you something about this song that you will think is funny when i see you next.

  9. Happy Happy Birthday Sara!! I hope your day is nice and serene!

  10. Playful Professional

    I read this based on some recommendations and really really liked it. It was quirky but in a great way.

  11. i’m like you i had no interest in the book, but dang you’re like the 6th person to say it’s like the best thing ever, so i guess i’m going to have to read it…

Leave a Reply

