Breaking Dawn

Last summer Cameron and Emily got me hooked on Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Series. I became obsessed with the series, and August 2nd couldn’t come fast enough.

Saturday morning on my way to Zumba, I stopped at Target and picked up my copy (I couldn’t stand the book store lines on Saturday, they were insane!). I read all day on Sunday and finished up the book last night.

I wanted to love it. I wanted it to be immortal. I wanted to be sucked into it’s captivating story line and powerful words. I wanted to want it to never end.

I hate to say it…but I was let down. I have to agree with the LA Times Review.
* Don’t read unless you’ve read the book. There are spoilers.* Don’t get me wrong, there were parts of the story that I loved. But there were a lot of parts that I felt like Meyer’s took the easy way out.

I missed the romance of lovers who can’t be. I missed the unknown. I missed turning the final page, only to be overcome with the anxiety of what would happen next. I missed rushing to B&N to get the next chapter of the saga…or better yet, waiting months and months for the final installment.

I guess the good thing is that she left room for new characters to grow into their own story line, but I don’t feel as connected to those characters as much!

I don’t want to write too much, because I know that so many people are still reading.

What did you think, or what do you think so far?

13 responses to “Breaking Dawn

  1. I haven’t read any of her books. I have however been reading constantly lately…I just can’t stop!

  2. i heard about this series just yesterday in fact. can you tell me more about twilight? you can email me if that’s easier!

  3. Found you through another blog … I liked the book, but I feel the same kind of let down you seem to be describing.

    I didn’t love certain parts of it, but I loved part one and part 2, though I would have found that more meanginful if Bella had told it or even Edward. Part 3 wore on … but I understand why it went the way it did. It had to end. She had to grow up I guess.

    I think I’m mourning the loss of anticipation. I had really looked forward to each book, and now it’s gone. 😦

  4. You are always reading wonderful books. I started Water for Elephants yesterday, over half way through and am loving it. Some of my students read this series, it is on the list of must read soon.

  5. Kat- I know exactly how you feel. I’ve been reading sooo much lately!

    Brookem- Email to come soon…in the mean time, email me your address…I have something for you!

    Anon-I’m so glad I’m not the only one feeling this way. I guess she did. I wonder if she’ll do another series with Jacob? hmmm….

    SJ- I’m so glad you love Water for Elephants. It’s such a good book! You should read the Twilight series so that you know what your kids are talking about!

  6. I have heard so much about this series. I really want to start reading it!

  7. i didn’t read all of this post (thanks for the spoiler alert!) and subsequently haven’t read any of the comments above (really hard to do as i type this right now!) but i’ve heard quite a bit about this series and may pick it up – though i’m not a vampire book reading type of gal…i almost read another spoiler and the person said the same thing – the final book was a let down.

    my question – with that in mind, is it worth reading the series?

  8. Jamie and Kay,
    Although I was let down by the final book, I don’t want to take away from my love for the entire series. I loved the series, even though I’m not a teenage vampire kind of girl! You should read it if you haven’t. They’re so addicting!
    xxxo,
    SJ

  9. I can’t read the rest of your blog or other peoples comments because I am only half way through Eclipse and haven’t started Breaking Dawn although I also picked mine up on Sunday. I am so sad that you didn’t absolutely LOVE it. Ugh. Now, I have nothing to look forward to! Ha! 🙂

  10. i was sad that the romantic feelings that jacob has for bella are over- it hurt me at the same time i liked it and it made bella and edwards love seem more intense.

  11. i didn’t read the book but i did read the review in this weeks EW and they mentioned that a lot of readers were disappointed. i’m sure the author doesn’t care though and is laughing all the way to the bank.

    hmmm.. i should write me a novel

  12. Playful Professional

    I completely agree with you. I’ve found that the younger girls/women were really disappointed because the love story fell away, but the older women who read it loved it because Bella grew up (and that was their biggest problem with the book). I was definitely disappointed.

  13. I finally finished. It took a long time, because, like you, I was dissapointed. Where was the spark? 1500 pages of spark came before this and in this book, I felt like it was completely gone. I didn’t like the story line–I thought she glossed over too much, and I think she wrote in a completely different way–I don’t know, the whimsical, soft flow of the other three books didn’t seem to be there. Alas…big sigh.

Leave a Reply

