The Beach House

Jane Green has always been one of my favorite authors. I adored Jemima J and The Other Woman. But lately, her books have been letting me down. I’m not saying that I don’t like them, I just don’t love them the way I have in the past.
Similar to how Swapping Lives reminded me of The Holiday. Many of my BS Book Club girls thought that this book was very similar to Nicholas Sparks’ Knights in Rodanthe.
Overall, the book was a cute summer beach read. I loved, Nan, the main character. She showed that all ages can relate with common threads and new beginnings.
Have you read any good books lately?
PS- I just started reading Holly’s Inbox. It’s actually a woman named Holly’s actual inbox. My friend Sarah sent it to me from London, and it’s so cute. I don’t think you can get it in US bookstores, but you can always order it!
8 responses to “The Beach House

  1. I just finished this book yesterday! I agree with your assessment. I wasn’t too let down because my expectations were pretty low. It was fairly entertaining and an easy read, but I found myself skipping paragraphs due to the predictability.

  2. I wanted to read
    Beach House…but
    maybe I won’t…
    mmm.

    Or maybe I still
    will…just for
    some light, carefree
    reading. Because I’m
    always up for that.

  3. PS…
    I do love
    A Night In Rodanthe…
    so maybe I would
    enjoyyy.

  4. Ok SJ you have to sign up for goodreads.com I blogged about it the other day, have had WAY too much fun with it, and am excited to share great books. Drop me a line when you have signed up.

  5. I too felt the same way about Jane Green’s Swapping Lives. I actually didnt finish it. I liked her previous books much more.

    Sign up for Good Reads!

  6. I am reading Straight Up & Dirty by Stephanie Klein and it is hilarious. I think you would really enjoy it.

    I also just finished Summer Sisters by Judy Blume. It too was a good beach read.

    And I agree.. you need to sign up for goodreads!! Find me when you do!

  7. OK…I did it. I joined Good Reads!

  8. I agree with your assessment too. While I liked it, I didn’t devour it like I used to with some of her books. I just felt that it was kind of predictable.

Leave a Reply

