The Lost Art of Origami…or Why I Wish Texting Was Banned on Occasion

Middle school was the beginning of “crush letters”. My heart raced when I liked a boy and he liked me back. I hid my spiral 5 Star under the desk and wrote out mini pieces of my heart on the lines. I tore out the college ruled paper, careful to keep the edges clean, and thoughtfully worked my origami magic. When the bell rang, I would race to my locker to meet him in the hopes that he had a ninja star shaped letter for me. They weren’t the most romantic words penciled across the pages, but the idea that someone took the time to think of you was what counted.

In high school, notepads were replaced with numbers as I waited every night for my teal plastic pager to vibrate with a 143 page or a 4663-64448 (goodnight). The numbers were just enough to say “I care”, but not the only way to communicate. By senior year, pagers were obsolescent and cell phones allowed for instant communication. I could chat with my prospective boyfriend any time of the day about everything and nothing and my parents were finally off my back for my house phone ringing past 10P. The sweet voice messages sent and received were spontaneous and heartfelt. You only had 25 seconds to be witty and get your point across. Unlike the messages left on your home answering machine, they were for your ears only and could be replayed a million times over by just the push of a button.

Although everyone had cell phones in college, we were brought back to our middle school days and crush notes by one small and simple item: the white board. After class, I couldn’t wait for the elevator to open up on my dorm room floor so I could see if there were any “crush notes” written across my board in neon colored ink. Even if it was smallest “Can’t wait to see you” note and wiped away by my roommate within minutes of me seeing it, it would always make my day.

Texting was never big when I was in school and dating. They weren’t very popular and no one had an unlimited packages. Just within the past few years, it seems as though texting is the only form of communication that boys know how to use. I can’t tell you the number of friends that have experienced this situation:

Boy meets girl.

Boy gets girls digits.

5 days pass….

Boy texts girl Are you out? or Plans for the night?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Does this mean that they boy is asking you out? Does he really want to meet up? And how many other girls does he text these same type of messages to? Is it too hard to pick up the phone and call?

I don’t know what it is about the texts, but they seem to be a little lack luster in my book. There isn’t any thought to them. No matter how hard you try, you can’t tell their tone or hold them in your fingers or relive their excitement over and over. It breaks my heart to know that my chances of getting a true love letter are diminishing the older I get and the more innovative technology becomes. I miss my origami…

If waiting for your own is killing you as much as it’s killing me, I highly recommend just reading Other People’s Love Letters. Although slightly voyeuristic, it’s only $15 at Amazon and will tide you over until the post man brings you one of your own.

PS- The word “texting” isn’t even recognized in spell check!

8 responses to “The Lost Art of Origami…or Why I Wish Texting Was Banned on Occasion

  1. The boy’s text means he’s not that into you, and you should know you deserve much much better. There’s no way that I’m settling for a guy who cannot call me and ask me out on a proper date, although when the guys is super cute and I like him it would be hard not to respond. But that is just so immature.

    And while texting is at least better than people taking calls while they’re with their friends, it is crazy to me how socially acceptable it has become to text/talk while at dinner, etc. I still think it’s rude.

  2. Texting has most certainly changed the face of dating! I was seeing a boy for a couple of weeks and he only called me twice–the rest was over text/in person! Ha! There are women that I work with who are older and they are just beside themselves at this new era of communication! Ridiculous. I miss the oragami, too! Did you see Nights in Rodanthe? There are love letters for you. The type of love letters any gal would swoon over! xo

  3. First thing first…I envy
    people who went to college
    where they go to use the
    elevator in their dorm
    buildings! Our elevators
    were strictly for emergency
    or handicap purposes. Pshhh.

    ANYWAYS…
    Texting gets people into
    SUCH trouble…but it
    has seriously become the
    means of communication.
    And while I do love text
    messages myself, I need the
    satisfaction of phone calls.
    Voice to voice action.
    I guess I’m just old fashioned!

  4. In my humble opinion, I don’t think Ally is correct at all.

    I mean, sure that can be the case sometimes, but not all the time. Everyone is different and sweeping generalizations and jumping to conclusions is the wrong way to go about it.

    I’ve been known to do that, but I have a reason for doing so. He’s keeping it casual.

    Some girls get “creeped out” if a guy is too forward and so a simply text is a way to feel out the girl.

    That’s just me though. Don’t be the type to dismiss guys’ intentions right away.

  5. Darn! I left a comment but it didn’t post for some reason.

    I think texting is good and bad. Some guys use it as a way to hide while other guys use it because they are either shy or don’t like talking on the phone.

    I used to love getting messages on my dorm room in college!!!

  6. I see texting as the step before the phone calls. (Not to be used instead of it.)

    However, if a girl gives me a letter that’s been turned into a ninja star, I am proposing right there.

  7. Agreed on the texting front!! A girlfriend of mine met a guy at Tim Hortons, and he texted her a month later! She is convinced he is the best thing to ever happen to her, but I was unimpressed on the whole texting to ask her out idea. To me, texting is for friends, between friends. In my humble opinion, no parents should be texting their children either. I think thats weird and inappropriate. As for so@24’s comments, I would feel weird about a text rather than a phone call! I do feel that a text is the cop-out method. But then again, I have been out of the dating scene for three years, so what do I know!

    Leah (www.fiveblondes.com)

  8. Pingback: Be Careful What You Wish For « Not Your Plain Jane

Leave a Reply

