This Is What Happens When You Don’t Quit

This weekend my buddy SAS was reading some of my archives and came across this post from 9 months ago today! It was the first time I ran outside, and my longest run to date. Yesterday, I nearly tripled that with my longest run thus far…10 miles! Only 3 more miles to add in the 5 weeks before the Kiawah Half Marathon.

I have to admit, I never thought I’d make it this far. Even about a month or so, I didn’t think I’d ever get past 6 or 7. It’s amazing what you can do when you let your mind control your body. I’ve posted this before, but I think it’s worth a re-post…

“Now if you are going to win any battle you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired in the morning, noon and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired.”
~George S. Patton, U.S. Army General, 1912 Olympian
********************
If you’re running short or long runs, I highly suggest to go to this site. It’s so helpful when it comes to mapping out routes.
Also, find a friend to go with you. It’s so nice to have someone pushing you along. I can’t thank my BSR’s SAS and Erin enough. They’re the best cheerleaders a girl could ask for. LYMI…xxxo
10 responses to “This Is What Happens When You Don’t Quit

  1. Congrats on the Run…..

    there is no way I could run 10 miles!

  2. wow congratulations! there is no way i could run 10 miles and i say that with all honesty. great quote as well! i must copy that down

  3. good for you! im so proud of you!

  4. Thank you for this post! I had started running again before the wedding, but was knocked off track closer to the date. I said I’d pick back up again when the honeymoon was over. Boy is it over. It’s time to dust off the running shoes!

  5. Boyfriend and I were just talking getting back into running!

    I’m going to check out the site. And maybe…hopefully…I will get back in the swing of things!

    Disney World Marathon, perhaps?

  6. Congrats! I now even have trouble walking from my office building to where my car is parked! Someday I will be healthy again…I hope!

  7. Congrats on the run. This is something I’d love to accomplish!

  8. Playful Professional

    That is awesome! Nice job! I think the hardest part of not quitting is getting started in the first place! I’m going running in 20 minutes actually.

  9. Ackkk. I could never.
    I admire your strength.
    Holllla to Miss, SaraJane!

  10. This really made me excited for you. I haven’t been able to get back to running since my surgery, but I think I’m really going to try today!

Leave a Reply

