Q&A Part 1: What’s in a Name?

Hi lovely readers! You asked, now I will do my best to answer.

Peter de Wolf asked: Do people typically call you Sara Jane, or just Sara?

My mom didn’t name me Sara Jane with the intent of using it as a double name. She just thought that people would call me Sara. Little did she know that as an adult I would move more and more South as time went on. The deeper South I go, to more and more people have double names. I actually have customers in South Carolina that call me Sara Jane, so that’s how I started signing off my emails and ordering my business cards. They think it makes me more Southern, and in turn more like-able.

The majority of my friends just call me Sara or some shortened form of my last name. I have a handful of friends that call me Jane and a few more that call me Sara Jane.

When I was a kid, I hated telling people my middle name. I thought that it was the most embarrassing old lady name ever. As an adult I’ve grown to embrace it.

Auburn Kat asked: Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging in June 2007. I had recently been hired by a new company and was going to eventually move to the Carolinas to work, but before I could settle, I had to endure a 5 month training program where I split my time between Philly, PA and Cary, NC. I was lucky to have made some friends along the way, but blogging was a way to keep up with the friends I had left in KY and OH.

At the time, I had no idea that there was a huge community of people that were out here! I had one real life friend that blogged and started reading the same ones that she did. I branched out and started finding more sites through others and that’s how I met all of you!

Amanda wants to know, When you’re feeling totally uninspired-what do you do, where do you go,who do you call, whichever…to get inspired?

Until Nablopomo, if I wasn’t inspired by anything, I just wouldn’t write. Period. But I’ve found that the more I write, the more inspired I am.

Most of the time inspiration comes to me in the car. I travel a lot for work and drive between 500-1000 miles/ week. Crazy, I know, but true. I get loads of time to think, listen to music, chat with my friends about mindless things. I guess that’s where I get most of my inspiration.

Jamie asked, What’s your favorite part about blogging?

Hands down, my favorite part of blogging is getting to know other writers who put their hearts into the computer day after day. They share their accomplishments, heartbreaks, random ideas, loves and hates with all of us. It’s exciting to feel so connected with people you may not really know, but you feel like there are days that you know them more than some of your real life friends. I think that one of my favorite posts sums it up best here. Thanks Brandy.

9 responses to “Q&A Part 1: What’s in a Name?

  1. The blogging “community” can be so supportive too. I enjoy reading another perspective–often from people who are very different than my friends in “real” life.

    I would love the driving part of your job! Getting paid to listen to music is great:)

  2. What a great idea for a post!

    I think I’ve said this before, but I actually love the name Jane. I gave that name to all of my dolls as a child.

    I can’t believe how much driving you do! I live in a somewhat remote beach town, so the closest anything is 20 minutes away! I get a lot of thinking done in the car while driving back and forth too.

    My favorite part about blogging is meeting others too. Getting into this whole blogging thing was felt like an entirely new world opened up.

    I meant to submit a question to you but didn’t get a chance this weekend. Is it too late?

  3. I love the story behind Sara Jane. Plus, it’s a lovely name, so why not work it!

    I’m a terrible blogging friend for not asking you any questions. So, to this I pose … you live in Charlotte, right? Given you’re not from NC, what are your favorite things about the city of queens and what do you dislike about it?

  4. I love the Sara Jane story! I’m definitely someone who needs to start embracing my middle name- right now I’m still in that stage where I do not like it!

  5. LOL nablopomo has made my more uninspired!!!! I’m so ready for this to be over, and either me or someone I know better win a prize!!!!!!

  6. I love answers to questions!
    Hollla. :o)

  7. i love the blogging community for the same reasons you mentioned. you, and brandy!

  8. I really do love the blogging community! It always makes me smile when I get comments and it makes me feel that I’m not alone in this world with my struggles!

    Thanks for answering my question=)

  9. I found you again!

    I kinda like “Sara Jane.” It does sound southern. (I have a history of swooning over “y’all.”)

Leave a Reply

