Defining Limits

“The only way to define your limits is to go beyond them”- Anonymous

If you would me a year ago that in 2008 I would run more total miles than I had in all previous years combined, I would have laughed in your face.

If you would have told me  after I finished the Bridge Run to turn around and run back to the start, I would have told you where to shove it.

If you told me that Saturday, December 6, 2008 I would finish the Kiawah Island Half Marathon without stopping to walk, and in 2 hours, 15 minutes (10:22 minute miles, not awful…not the winning time) I would have told you to wake up from your dream…

Post Race Pic

Big Sexy Runners SAS, E and SJ

But then again, I do have the medal to prove it!

Growing up I won my fair share of ribbons and tropheys, but I have to admit, nothing compares to the feeling of accomplishment I had Saturday morning. There is something about running, testing your body, testing your mind…testing your limits. Doing something that you never thought possible. It makes me believe that I truly can do anything I put my mind to.

img_1497

Who knows what I will attempt in 2009. For now I’ll just be wearing my silver medal around town my house, reminding myself that anything is possible.

Thanks to my BSR’s for all of their support, also to all of my real life and bloggy friends. Your words, texts, emails, calls meant so much to me.

xxxo

25 responses to “Defining Limits

  1. Congrats! That is awesome, I am so proud of you!

  2. You are truly amazing! I can not imagine running a half, but you have at least proved it’s possible! 🙂 Way to go, you! Sweet medal! I think you should wear it everywhere. Proud of you! xxxo

  3. That’s awesome. Congratulations! Everytime I hear about how running makes a person feel it makes me want to do it. I’m still not there mentally yet, though. How do I get over that mental hump?

  4. WOW this is really something! Congrats!

  5. Now that is one unbelievable accomplishment! Go girl!

  6. I am so like in awe of you. I’d love to do something that I never thought I could do. Congrats!

  7. Amazing job SJ! Keep it up, and I’m glad to hear that you aren’t really wearing the medal around town. (Might not help land too many dates)

  8. Great work, SJ! You must feel so good for multiple reasons! The medal is pretty cute, too! Haha.

    Now I need you to send your hard work vibes THIS way.

  9. Ahh! Congrats! I’m so excited and happy for you my friend!!

  10. East Coast Teacher

    Congratulations Sara ~ that is awesome.

    If I push myself, I can run just under 10 minute miles, closer to 11 minutes if I’m running at a somewhat leisurely pace.

    I’ve always thought that was too slow to contemplate entering a race, but you have inspired me to go for it.

    Thank you – and congrats again…very awesome : )

  11. VERY impressive, lady!

    Congratulations.

    (And you totally should wear that medal around town.)

  12. CONGRATS! I am so excited for you!!!

    I already know what my goal is for next year, figuring out what my next move is!

  13. Amazing! I am so impressed!

  14. Congrats, Sara! You should be very proud. I like to run, although I’m nowhere near in decent enough shape to compete in a race.

    (Totally unrelated, but I love the sweater you’re wearing in that one picture).

  15. Pshh. You are such
    a BIG SEXY!
    Way to be nothing
    but a rawkstar.

    You best be walking
    around your TOWN
    showing the shiny
    sucker off. I know I would be.

  16. Congrats!!! that is wicked awesome!

  17. Oh SJ, I’m so proud of you!!

    Congratulations!!! Maybe one day I’ll know the feeling too!

  18. yay! congratulations. sending you a cyber hi-five!

  19. PS – Check out my blog today for some bloggy love!

  20. Totally unrelated, but I thought of you last night! My little sister calls me “Big Sissy” and when she says it is almost always sounds like “Big Sexy.” My boyfriend’s jaw dropped the first time he heard it and asked me if my little sister seriously called me her “Big Sexy!” haha

  21. i ran one on Sunday! Nice job! I wasn’t as fast but I was still excited to finish I hadn’t ran one in two years!

  22. This is part of what is so wonderful about life….we evolve, change, push ourselves, and do things that we never imagined we’d do or even want to do. Bravo on mixing things up and trying new things and accomplishing your goals.

  23. Pingback: Boom, Boom I’ma make ‘em go KRAZY « Not Your Plain Jane

  24. Pingback: The Writing’s on the Wall « Not Your Plain Jane

Leave a Reply

