MMM v. 4: The week of Break-ups…by Jules

So many updates, so little time!

What a busy week.  Between this weeks IJL date, Coach, an old fling, and my next date- I haven’t had time to breathe.

IJL Jason

Not a match this week, unfortunately.  I don’t think it is too much to ask for 3 things in a man:

  1. Chemistry- A good fit between personalities
  2. Attraction- Someone who is nice to look at
  3. Resume- Necessary life requirements (no kids, education, good job, etc.)

Jason had maybe1 of these. I am your stereotypical “life of the party type,” Jason was shy and reserved putting it mildly (he couldn’t even look me in the eye for at least 45 minutes).  I am very career driven and independent, Jason only works to pay his bills; which he has very few of since he still lives with his parents at 31 years old.  He wasn’t bad looking but I am not particularly attracted to skinny men.  I need my man to weigh more than me and I’m a curvy lady.  Finally, after I thought I would be able to cut it short and leave-

Jason- “wow, I’m drunk”

Julie- “well you are hiding it well, you don’t seem that drunk”

Jason- “no, I’m really drunk. I don’t think I can drive”

Julie- “why don’t you try walking to the bathroom, getting the blood flowing may help.”

Jason- “no, I just need to stay here for a while and sober up.”

Julie- “ok, I will ask for some more water.”

Jason- ” I don’t think it’s going to help.  Only time will help so I guess we will have to stay for a while.”

And after all this, he made me pay for all my own stuff! Needless to say, I won’t be seeing IJL Jason again.

Coach

About a year ago I went out with a guy from high school.  He was always the most popular guy in school, a great athlete, and the guy all the girls wanted but no one could get.  Ironically enough, since high school, he’s no longer an athlete, lost most of his friends, and is now fat and bald at 28.  Since our outing, he is totally into me. He calls, texts and begs to see me.  I feel horrible for writing this but… I only keep him around for an ego boost.  It will never go anywhere and I’m completely uninterested.  But I love the attention he gives me. 

Monday evening Coach text me and told me he was just lying around.  I got excited thinking he wanted to get together, but then, he never asked!  At that point I had a epiphany-

I’m Coach’s bald, fat guy! 

This week I had to break it off.  I have too much to offer and too much self-respect to be treated like this….. So long Coach!

Parlez-vous Francais?

This week’s IJLdate is going to be a great experience even if we don’t hit it off.  I will be meeting Luc at The Grand Concourse for after-work drinks. Here are his details:

  • Age- 27
  • Appearance- Blonde hair, blue eyes, 5’11”, fit
  • Profession- Research and Development
  • Education- PhD!!!!
  • Background- Moved to Pitt from France 2 years ago
  • Interests- Soccer, travel, and outdoor activities

This restaurant is supposed to be really nice and I am looking forward to Luc’s cultured perspective on life.  At the very least, he should offer a unique conversation and great stories!  Maybe we will see if he brings new meaning to the phrase “French Kiss!”

Stayed tuned!!

7 responses to “MMM v. 4: The week of Break-ups…by Jules

  1. oh wow. we are totally in the same boat except you’re dating life is much more…active than mine. dating is so hard! (i think).

    anywho, kudos for gettting rid of #1 & #2….and good luck on #3 – I hadn’t heard of IJL but it seems like a fun (no pressure) way to meet new people.

  2. You are being such a good sport about these IJL dates. One day, one more to go! Sounds like you’ve got a pretty darn attractive resume yourself to be matched with so many viable young men!

  3. Way to cut coach off. Good call. You don’t
    need that crap.

    Luc sounds totally fun. I hope it’s a hit out of the
    ballpark. Clearly I’ll be rooting for you!

    Hollla, Jules!

  4. “Jason- “wow, I’m drunk””

    Isn’t this like, number ONE on the things NOT to say on a first date??

    What an asshat.

  5. Gosh, I really do love your updates! It makes me feel like I’m not alone in this dating world! I totally agree with your three requirements and I often why it’s so hard to find them!

  6. I’m impressed by your stamina 🙂

    This week’s date sounds like fun; looking forward to reading about it.

  7. Oooh, you never want to be the fat, bald guy… good job breaking it off. Ego boosts are a dime a dozen. But French imports? Awesome. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

