Costume Change

I’ve been a homebody lately.  After weeks of trying to pinch pennies and avoid hangovers, when some of my dance buddies asked me if I wanted to go out on Friday night and get all dressed up for a techno party, I could resist. 1. I LOVE costumes (they bring me back to my sorority girl days), and b. I LOVE dancing.

I always thought that the best part of getting dressed up was finding the perfect outfit and getting ready.  I took the Style-ish lead and went for colored tights, then added a bit of flair with my purple bob.

img_1843

As soon as I put the wig on my head, I felt like a new woman! It was so liberating.

We pulled up to the club ready to party, but when we look out of the cab…NO ONE ELSE WAS DRESSED UP! You know like in Bridget Jones when she’s at the Tart and Vigor’s party in a bunny suit and no one else is in costume? That was me.

I had about one second of embarrassment, but you only live once! We were the hit of the party. I’m pretty sure that people thought that we were hired by the club as characters…that was until they saw us taking pictures of ourselves! Before the night was over, I’m pretty sure we posed for 20 different cameras! Everyone wanted a shot of us.

img_1770

 So many people thought that Megan’s Rainbow Bright/ Jem wig was real, that Michael looked like David Bowie and that Gaby was a Mexican Amy Winehouse!

 If you could have an alter ego for one night, who would you be?

8 responses to “Costume Change

  1. LOVE the pictures. Really LOVE the aqua blue tights, SJ. True rawkstar right there.

    An alter ego? Oh that is quite a toughie. For there
    are so many alter ego’s I’d want to play as.

    Perhaps a cross between Joan Jett/Britney Spears/Paris Hilton/Wonder Woman/Kelly Taylor/an FBI agent. . .

    (and to be honest, these alter ego-licious ladies have come out in me on more than one occasion.)

  2. That would be a fun date outfit just to see how the guy would react.

    This reminds me of our costume skating party the other night….we were, of course, the only skaters in costume and everyone wanted their photo with us. Hilarious.

    Glad you had fun!

  3. *I* would be the Mexican Amy Winehouse.

    Damn you, Gaby.

  4. I feel the same way when I blow dry my hair straight. It’s such a change that I carry myself differently and I think people just notice. Plus, purple hair? Who doesn’t love that?!

  5. look at how cute and sassy you are in that wig! you’re effing adorable miss sara!

  6. I LOVE crazy colored tights! They totally make an outfit special, don’t they? 😉

  7. You looked great!!!

    I would wear a Marie Antoinette costume!

  8. You look so cute dressed up like that!

Leave a Reply

