How can you not LOVE this?

Any one who is my Facebook friend knows that I have developed a passion for Zumba Fitness over the last year. I love it so much that I started teaching in December. A friend of mine who I did some photos with before, Amy Free, did some shots for the Zumba company that I work for. Here is a preview…

qc_collage-thumb-910x930

There have been some anti-Zumba posts floating around the blogosphere, and I undersand that some people don’t share the love of movement the same way that I do. But if you’ve never tried a class before, you need to. And if you don’t love it, try another instructor before giving up!

So I can hear you all asking, “What’s Zumba?” Zumba is a fitness program that incorporates International rhythms and fitness. So you do all different types of dancing: salsa, meringue, samba, bhangra, belly, cumbia, even some hip hop! With hot moves and bangin’ music, Zumba is more like a dance party than a workout.  The instructor should be telling you what do do next by showing you…NOT verbally cuing you like traditional fitness. This takes a lot of people a class or two to get used to, but once you do it’s so much more fun!

I had a few friends doubt the fitness level of the class because of it’s dance based choreography, but I’ve seen amazing results not only in my students, but in myself as well. I haven’t been in this good of shape since my glory days early college! I’d rather “Shake it like Shakira” (thanks Brandy) than go to the gym ANY day! You can find a class near you by searching the Zumba site by zip code. If you’re in NC, you can get my schedule here.

11 responses to “How can you not LOVE this?

  1. I’ve seen videos on the web and it looks SO fun. However, I don’t think my gym does it justice. The class is so packed you can hardly move, and few people seem to get into it and have a good time. I was disappointed cause it looks like such a fun time.

  2. if i were closer id be at every one of your classes.

  3. Great photos! I wish my gym had Zumba….I should see if the other locations do. I am glad you love it so much…it’s great to have things like that in our lives.

  4. Does it take place outside?

    After hearing you rave about Zumba-I’ve
    been dying to give it a try. I’m definitely
    going to find a class nearby. Too bad I’m
    not in North Carolina-I’d so be busting
    my groove at yourrrr class!

  5. You are positively gorgeous.

    I love Zumba–although I’ll have to sit out the next few weeks b/c I tore a ligament in my ankle last night 😦

    I’d love to attend one of your classes!

  6. That looks like so much fun! I’ll have to look it up here in Dallas 🙂

  7. Those pictures are fabulous! I’ve been meaning to try a Zumba class for a while (because I think Sweets would have a blast). Your photos are a sure sign motivator to get my butt to the class!

  8. You look in shape and so happy in one of those pictures! =)

  9. I’m just going to ditto Brookem 😉 You know we would be there!

  10. those pics are FIERCE!!! lookin’ good 🙂

  11. I’m horribly uncoordinated, but I’m going to give Zumba a try — tonight! My gym has classes on Monday nights. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

