MMM v. 7: Home, home on the range….by Jules

Farmer Pete

It keeps getting better and better folks!  This week my match was described to me as:

  • Name: Mike
  • Age: 29
  • Description: light brown hair, blue eyes, 5’8″, rugged
  • Occupation: Computer Programer

As Mike walked in to Jackson’s (20 minutes late) I thought, “Thank God, at least this one is cute.” And then he opened his mouth:

Mike (in a very angry tone): “I’m Mike”

Julie: “Hi Mike, its nice to meet  you”

Mike (in a very angry tone): “Sorry I’m late, this A** Hole customer kept me on the phone for 30 minutes.”

Julie: “That’s ok, did you have a bad day?”

Mike: *launches into a 5 minute angry rant full of expletives.

Not exactly the best start to a date right?  To give Mike some credit, he did calm down after 5 minutes and he was able to shake his anger and have a great conversation.  However, once we got to talking, I quickly realized the information I had been given on Mike was incorrect.  He was no computer programer, he serviced John Deer tractors!  And even better he had been raised on a farm where they raised and slaughtered cows and pigs, and grew corn and other vegetables. 

Even though there was definitely an attraction and the conversation was interesting, our lifestyles are definitely different.  He wants to move to Kentucky within a year, live the country life, and raise a family.  However, I’m no country girl and I’m not in the business of wasting anyone’s time so I probably will not be seeing Farmer Pete again.

It’s Just NOT Lunch

This week I found my own date! When SJ introduced me, she mentioned that I had tapped out Match.com.  I thought that I had too until I continued to get emails in my account.  Out of curiousity, I signed up for a 3-Day trial.  No good potentials were in my inbox but within a few hours a mystery man with no picture sent me a “wink.”  It just so happened that he was online when I read his profile so I went out on a limb and IM’ed him.  We chatted for a while and he emailed me pictures.  To my surprise he is super CUTE!!!!!

21

Here are is stats:

  • Name: Jon
  • Occupation: Corporate Asset Manager
  • Appearance: 5’10” and cute!
  • Education: BA from Penn State, MBA from Pitt

We had our first phone date tonight (Sunday) and I can’t wait to talk to him again.  We have plans to go out on Wednesday, location TBD.  I’m really excited about this one, much more so than any of my IJL dates so far.  He is so nice, really cute, well educated, with a great job, outgoing, social, and most importantly…..he thinks I’m pretty and isn’t affraid to tell me so! 

After 3 years of failed dates and potential relationships, I’m always afraid that guys won’t like me.  I hope he thinks that our phone date went as well as I did, and that he still wants to meet me on Wednesday.  When do you think is too soon to call him again?   

9 responses to “MMM v. 7: Home, home on the range….by Jules

  1. I don’t think it is ever too soon to get another call from a pretty girl.

  2. I spent nearly 6 years in a relationship with a farm boy, and let me tell you, it was, for the most part, great.

    Having grown up in the Northeast, where we’re known to be upright and rushed, spending time in the Midwest, amidst fields and livestock, was a pleasant change.

    Could I have spent the rest of my life there, as (at the time), that’s where his career was? Truthfully, I don’t know.

    But don’t knock the farm boys – a lot of them are pretty darn awesome!

  3. Yeah for meeting someone fun! As for calling him, I think it’s best for you to let him do the calling. I think dating works best that way AND that way you know he’s interested and feeling the same way you do. You don’t want to date a guy who isn’t interested enough in you to call consistently.

    ISJ is striking out! Hope the next ISJ match is a better fit.

  4. Call him! Call him!

    Xoxo,

    Dana

  5. It’s all about meeting the right person at the right time. Trust your instincts and don’t forget to have fun!

  6. I love that Farm Boy came in all angry.
    Did he actually think that was a great way
    to start a blind date off? Maybe his IJL coach
    should tell him otherwise.

    Way to find someone yourself. Call him when you want. He thinks you’re pretty. Therefore, it will never be too soon for him. He’ll be happy to hear from you, for sure. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  7. ooo hope you have a fun wednesday date with jon!! he’s a cutie

  8. he’s CUTE i hope you date goes well! so fun.

  9. I say call….
    that whole “waiting to call” stuff is crap…

    if you like him, call him

Leave a Reply

