Inspiration – it’s all around you!

I grew up in a small Ohio city. To be frank, I never cared for the rural, farm-like, grey town. Though I always knew I wanted to get away from the Midwest, never in my life did I imagine that I would be living in California. Not only that, but I never really realized the vastness of natural beauty until I moved to California. It’s easy to find inspiration here. When I lived in San Francisco my dorm overlooked the Golden Gate bridge and the San Francisco sky-line. Now, living in Los Angeles, I drive through mountains and cities on a daily basis and am confronted with cultural and geographical differences everywhere I look. When I to other countries my camera never stops taking pictures of what I see as exotic and majestic, fascinated that the natives find it all commonplace.

After seeing such inspiring places, I wasn’t looking forward to going back to Ohio or Kentucky, my alma matter, for the first time after leaving. But instead of seeing the grey, boring landscape of my childhood, my eyes suddenly had a new appreciate for an equivalent, albeit different, beauty of what I always saw as normal.

Here are some examples of photos I have taken of the beauty I have found in both the “grey” and also the glamorous, and how I have transformed their inspirations into jewelry:

Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Purple Haze Necklace

Purple Haze Necklace

SaN Francisco, CA

SaN Francisco, CA

Asymetrical Purple Beaded Gemstone Necklace

Asymetrical Purple Beaded Gemstone Necklace

Chengde, China

Chengde, China

Zhong Necklace

Zhong Necklace

Chinese Countryside

Chinese Countryside

Mosaic Teardrop Earrings

Mosaic Teardrop Earrings

Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Black Eye Glasses Lanyard

Black Eye Glasses Lanyard

It doesn’t matter where we are or what resources we do or do not have around us. What matters, and what makes a difference, is the lenses of the eyes of which we look at the world around us.

Where do you find your inspiration? Look around! It’s everywhere!

Thanks for letting me be part of your day 🙂

~Christyn of Bead Up

I have a blog now, too 🙂 Check it out at beadup.blogspot.com

9 responses to “Inspiration – it’s all around you!

  1. Beautiful jewelry. I love the subtle connections to the world around you.

    I have a special affinity towards the Golden Gate Bridge. Do you have any bright orange steel jewelry? 😉

  2. I also grew up in a small city, Ohio. Oh, how my views of the world changed when I moved.
    I love your jewelry and seeing your inspirations is very inspirational!

  3. I love your inspirations! And now it makes me want to buy even more from your Etsy shop!!! =)

  4. Nothin grey about that. Gorgeous!

  5. OMG that is awesome the way the jewelry mirrors the pictures subtly! I love it!

  6. You’re such a great artist. Thanks for sharing some of your inspiration with us. I often have to remind myself to see my every-day surroundings as if I would if it were some cool place I was visiting less I miss out on the extraordinary beauty I encounter daily.

  7. when i first started reading this…i was like, ehh…since when do you live in cali!

    i love your stuff, christyn. it’s awesomeeeee.

  8. small ohio city? what small ohio city?

  9. Thank you everyone for your positive feedback 🙂 I will feed off of it for days, especially when I need a re-boost in my moral and creativity!

    Coach J — I have yet to make anything that’s bright orange and steel, though it sounds like a great idea! What kind of jewelry are you thinking of? I would love to brainstorm with you!

    Alexa- Cleveland’s Plum – love your blog 🙂 I am from Toledo. Born and raised, moved to Kentucky from Ohio at 19 and then to California at 22.

Leave a Reply

